General Information

  • Location: Japan lies in  Northeast Asia between the North Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Japan. It is composed of 47 provinces, and these provinces can be divided on geographical and historical background basis into eight areas, namely: Hokkaido, Tohoku,  Kanto, Chubu, Kinki,  Chugoku, Shikoku and Kyushu - Okinawa. Each has its own dialect, customs and traditional heritage area. Here are the four main islands of Japan:
    - Hokkaido Island: Located in the far north of Japan.
    - Honshu Island: the main island of Japan.
    - Shikoku Island: the smallest of Japan Islands
    - Kisho Island: Located in southern Japan

  • Area: 377,829 square kilometers (145,877 square miles).
  • Population: 127.4 million inhabitants (2013 census).
  • Population Density: 333.7 per square kilometer.
  • Capital:Tokyo.
  • Time: GMT 9.
  • Currency:The unit of Japanese currency is the yen. Coins are in the following units of 1.5, 10, 50 100, and 500 yen, and paper currency is in the following units 1000, 2000, 5000, and 10,000 yen.
    You can buy the yen from accredited Currency Exchange banks or shops. At international airports Currency Exchange shops open doors for business during normal office hours. And exchange rates fluctuate daily depending on the currency market.
  • Political System: is a  parliamentary elected system, and  the parliament consists  of the House of Representatives (the most powerful and influential), which includes 475 deputies their  elections  take place around once every four years, and the Board of Advisors, which includes 242 deputies who s are elected every two years.
  • Natural Resource: fish.
  • Exports: Japan is among the largest producers and exporters in the world of cars and electronic equipment, machinery, steel and nonferrous metals, ships, chemicals, textiles and processed foods.
  • Trading Partners: China 18%, US 17.7%, South Korea 7.7%, Thailand 5.5%, Hong Kong 5.1%, according to statistics of 2012.